BLOG: SURPRISE!

Hi guys!

I’m sorry that I have not been keeping up to speed on my blog over the past couple of months. I was so consumed with revising all different types of literature along with having the monumental task of writing my dissertation – I didn’t have much time on my hands for anything else!

In fact, most of my evenings were spent in front of my laptop as I typed away endless sentences in the kitchen. I cannot tell you the relief I felt when I handed in my dissertation at the end of April. I had my last exam a couple of weeks ago and it’s fair to say that when the exam had finished, I was out of that room faster than Usain Bolt(Olympics 2020 here I come!).

Since then, I had to catch up on sleep. To some, sleep is the norm but for me, I ended up resorting to getting a few hours sleep all night and my body had accustomed to it (I don’t recommend this). I feel a bit more refreshed and revitalised! (Makes it sound like one of those beauty adverts that advertise moisturisers on the tv!).

Although, you’re probably wondering if the hard work paid off.

*cue drumroll*

*bites nails*

*scratches head*

*drumroll keeps playing and by this point, everyone has lost attention on what they were originally waiting to hear the result of*

*kicks drum away*

Ok, so enough of that. I’m pleased to tell you all that I achieved a 2.1 in my dissertation! This is an upper second class classification and if you’re not from the UK, I’m not sure what the equivalent is in other countries – but hey, that’s what Google is for, right? Search away!

Last year, I was so upset with my second year grades that I had achieved a high 2.2 overall with all of my grades combined together. The thought of quitting crossed my mind but I had already completed one year so thought “what will be, will be” – especially if I worked my arse off in the final year – WHICH I DID, LET ME TELL YOU. My arse has been worked off so much that it’s now flat as a pancake, I kid you not. (Nah, just kidding, it’s still there – but metaphorically, I did work my arse off).

In my final year, I have achieved 2.1’s in every assignment including my dissertation. 2.1’s of all variations – even high 2.1’s – nearly firsts! I have never been so proud of myself. I made my final year about me – I cut out all dating episodes (guys), exercised, and focused on myself for once so that I could look back and say “Either way, however this degree ends up being classed as, I gave it my bloody best shot!”

To even achieve a 2.1 in my dissertation (which was written about Shakespearean villains) is such an achievement in itself. So… UNIVERSITY IS OVER! I graduate in July so I’ll keep you updated. I’ve been having some weird dreams about it – dreading walking across the stage in front of all the gawking eyes. I’m sure I’ll fall over. I’m hoping I won’t but I’ll have to try walking in my heels before the date arises as I tend to walk like Bambi when I wear heels – my legs go all over the place. It’s like I’ve had one too many to drink when really it’s my lack of balance!

Since then, I’ve also been having driving refresher lessons. I passed my test previously but I’m now having some extra lessons to boost my confidence and get me back on the road (as I will be buying my very own car shortly! – It’s all happening!). It was very weird, though. Everything that I had learnt previously automatically came back to me – even my driving instructor was surprised at my memory! (I surprised myself as usually my memory is like a goldfish, in particular, Dory from Finding Nemo!)

How are you all doing? Keep me updated on what I’ve missed!

Until next time,

Zoe. X

Leave a Reply

