The Stem of it All

My dehydrated mouth
peeled at the cracks, words poured
over the disjointed lines
for all to see. I saw the crimson shades
redden as the anger built up
inside my body. My tear-smeared face
was a lifeless flower that had broken
its stem, the spine that held it together.
I needed my stem back, for I had lost it in
hands that did not know how to keep
my vibrancy alive. I tore up the notes
filled with broken promises and lies.
Hysterical sobs broke free from my
chest, my rescuing call for sublimity.

Leave a Reply

