BLOG: I LIKE BIG BLOGS AND I CANNOT LIE

In this post, I will be providing links for you to see my published works on online literary journals!

You can currently see my poetry featured in The Poeteer: A 21st Century Poetry Publication, Midnight Circus Literary Magazine (the ‘In the Age of Miracles’ issue!), Indiana Voice Journal, and in Les Reves Des Notre Ours online journal.

My next publication will feature in the April issue of The Wells Street Journal. Clue: It will be about London. I’ll post a link to it next month, so that you can all have a sneaky look at my ventures!

http://icameherelookingforafight.bigcartel.com/product/les-reves-des-notre-ours-2

http://www.indianavoicejournal.com/2016/07/a-poem-by-zoe-maynard-shire-horse.html

These were published around nine months ago which is crazy! In those nine months, I like to think that my writing has improved a little. Little by little. Bit by bit. I like to look back and think “I should have definitely put a comma there, or a fullstop, or rephrased that part”. The best critical view to your work is by yourself. Be your own critic!

How are you all doing?

I’ve been absolutely knackered recently. The final year of BA English at university is pretty tough and really challenges you! I love a challenge. I also love sleep but I can sleep after I get all of my deadlines and work done. I’m a bit of a workaholic. I confess. Although, I always try and aim to get around 8 hours of sleep each night (if I can!).

Let me know some of your own publication ventures. Or if you have not yet published or submitted to any publishers, and think “Hmm. I should give it a go!” – DO IT! You’ll get rejected approximately about 90% of the time. So that’s 9 out of 10 times. (I’m really selling this idea to you, right?). But honestly, once you get that final yes or an acceptance, it shows that your work is improving. Plus, it will always be published and I like to keep a box with my publications in it (sentimental, I know…). Let’s get the tissues out before this gets too emotional.

Anyway, moving on! I hope March is going well for you all. I apologise for my lack of blogging activity but… life. It happens. This is why I’m writing a blog here and there for you so that you can all be like ‘Oooh a surprise post!’. A bit like a ghost creeping up on you. (Don’t look behind you, there’s a ghost! – Just kidding. That wasn’t a funny joke. At all. So original? – Ah well. Boo hoo. Damn, these ghost jokes won’t stop.)

How’s life going? Do comment and keep me up to speed on your poetry writing and your life in general. It keeps one of my revision breaks entertained!

Until next time,

Zoe. X

Leave a Reply

